Oppression??

I see oppression when I hear songs equating fair skin with beauty!
I see oppression when I see movies demonizing the black colour!
I see oppression when I see rappers and singers shamelessly taking pride in their caste!
I see oppression when use of certain words make you a traitor!
I see oppression when asking a certain question can make you anti national!
I see oppression when mocking transgenders and gays is made acceptable!
I see oppression when I hear words like blasphemy and sedition!
I see oppression when people talk as if communism is the synonym for terrorism!
I see oppression when people talk as though utopia is a mental disorder!
I see oppression when people act as if they are compelled to waste their fortunes on festivals and marriages!
I see oppression when actors who don’t even appear to be Indians discuess their first world problems in a third world country on the silver screen!                                                          
I see oppression when nationalism appears to be all about country and not the countrymen!
I see oppression when people tell me oppression is justified!
So guess I only see oppression!

Leave a Reply

